Jello Again!

Posted: August 24, 2012 in Blog Entries

In a previous blog entry, I’d mentioned the ‘Jello Jingle’ Competition I’d won…and also that I’d never received my prize. I didn’t really care anymore at that point, but I stumbled across what I’d written the other day. Though I’m not really expecting anything, I thought it might be worth my while to try to claim my prize one last time. Not wanting to come off as whiny or needy, I asked my Dad for advice and he told me I should write them a poem about the situation. I was pretty happy with what I came up with. Here’s what I emailed them:

The time was ’bout a year ago,
The setting was online.
You said if I’d write Jello songs,
A supply could be all mine.

A year’s supply of Jello,
What a tasty, jiggly treat!
I was ready for the challenge,
I would not accept defeat.

I put the work and effort in;
I came up with the rhymes.
I found all the right sentences,
I revised it many times.

Once I’d finished writing it,
I displayed it on your wall.
On Macey’s spiffy Facebook page,
To be seen by one and all.

There were no other entries,
And you told me that I’d won.
Shortly I would get to have
A year of Jello fun.

Well ‘shortly’ became longer,
And my jello never came.
We’d sent some emails back and forth,
The answer was the same.

“You’ll get your jello shortly,
We’re sorry for the wait.”
It never seemed to happen,
It almost seemed like fate.

Though I don’t know what happened,
I thought I’d let you know.
If you find that you are willing.
I’d still like my Jell-O.

Leave a comment